Is “Gluten-free” Really Contains No Gluten?

Gluten is the protein that causes dough elasticity. It allows the bread to rise before being cooked. It is commonly found in barley, rye and wheat. We can assume that almost all types of bread have gluten.

To avoid gluten. One must refrain from consuming foods with the three mentioned ingredients. The “gluten-free” foods. Better if you stay away from breads.


Gluten can be removed from wheat making it possible to produce “gluten free” bread. But don’t jump to conclusions yet. Not all gluten can be removed from wheat. And remember, rising of dough is not possible without gluten.

Tell me if you know something that can replace gluten in bread making.

According to FDA, celiac disease is a chronic inflammatory disorder of the small intestine in genetically susceptible individuals. It is triggered by ingesting certain proteins, commonly referred to as “gluten” which is naturally present in some cereal grains.

For persons with coeliac disease, the maximum safe level of gluten in a finished product is probably less than 0.02% or as little as 0.002%. Australian standards for “gluten free” label is less than 5 parts per million

Sausages may also contain gluten due meat binders.

One Reply to “Is “Gluten-free” Really Contains No Gluten?”

  1. Hi there,

    My second comment tonight. I’m really liking your blog!

    In 2008 I was diagnosed with celiac disease and have been eating gluten-free ever since. It can be very difficult to bake without wheat flour but I get a little help from xanthan gum. Xanthan mimics the binding properties of gluten. Also, you’ll need to experiment with different varieties of gluten-free flour: rice flour, sorghum, tapioca, etc. depending on what you’re baking as each one results in a different texture.

    Hope this was helpful!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.